Skip to content

3 Main Types of IT Disaster Recovery

Business Continuity and IT Disaster Recovery Blog

What are the Different Types of IT Disaster Recovery?

Disaster Recovery (DR) is fundamental for keeping data safe and keeping up with business continuity. With different types of disaster recovery plans that a business can execute, finding all that fit can be overpowering. Every business is unique, so it’s vital to see each of the decisions accessible to you. Along these lines, you can pick which plan best suits your necessities.

What is Disaster Recovery?

So you ask, what is disaster recovery?” Disaster recovery (DR) is an organization’s capacity to answer and recover from an event that adversely influences business activities. The objective of DR strategies is to empower the company to recover the utilization of basic frameworks and IT foundations immediately after a disaster. To plan for this, companies frequently play out a top to bottom assessment of their system and make a plan to follow in the midst of a crisis. This report is known as a disaster recovery plan.

Why is Disaster Recovery Important?

Disasters can incur many kinds of harm with shifting degrees of seriousness, contingent upon the situation. A brief network outage could bring about baffled clients and loss of business to an online business. A hurricane or tornado could obliterate a whole office, server/data center or office.

The cost can be critical. The Uptime Institute’s Yearly Outage Analysis 2021 report assessed that 40% of blackouts or service irregularities in organizations cost somewhere in the range of $100,000 and $1 million. Around 17% cost more than $1 million. A data break can be more costly; the typical expense in 2020 was $3.86 million, as per the 2020 Expense of a Data Breach Report by IBM and the Ponemon Institute.

Different Types of Disaster Recovery (DR)

Business continuity and disaster recoveries are the processes and strategies that return your business system – equipment, programming and data – to full functioning following a natural or man-made disaster. Organizations progressively depend on IT for their strategic tasks. It is fundamental to have IT disaster recovery planning, like the CBRITP training course, set up to ensure your business isn’t in danger from a calamity.

BRCCI offers a comprehensive CBRITP training course. The CBRITP certification demonstrates that the holder of this IT disaster recovery certification has in-depth expertise in all stages of the IT disaster recovery planning life-cycle. For more info on CBRITP training course, you can click here.

Here, we check out three different types of disaster recovery

1. Cold Site Disaster Recovery

A basic yet powerful business recovery solution, a cold site is essentially a reserved region on a data center where your business can set up new equipment in case of a disaster. This is a popular IT disaster recovery planning. It will be more affordable than different choices, yet still enables an organization to endure a disaster.

In the event that you outsource your disaster recovery, chances are they will lay out this type of disaster recovery solution. This will work as long as your planning is great, your backups are sound and your documentation is amazing. Obviously, extra downtime in case of a disaster should be satisfactory for a cold site to be a legitimate choice. Expect 24 hours for critical systems and up to seven days for less significant capabilities.

2. Cloud-based disaster recovery

While utilizing a cloud-based approach, you’re ready to reduce costs by utilizing a cloud supplier’s data center as a recovery site. This is unlike spending on your own data center offices, staff, and frameworks. Users benefit from the competition between cloud suppliers, as they keep on attempting to outperform each other. Prior to focusing on this method, decide the difficulties that suppliers might have with your business’ backup and recovery. The supplier might have the option to help you in fixing those issues before the cloud turns into a piece of your DR plan.

3. Disaster Recovery as a Service

While Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS) is much of the time in the cloud, it isn’t only for the cloud. Some DRaaS suppliers offer their answers as a site-to-site service, in which they host and run an optional hot site. Moreover, suppliers can reconstruct and transport servers to an organization’s site as a server replacement service. Cloud-based DRaaS empowers clients to failover applications right away. It helps to arrange failback to rebuilt servers, and reconnect clients through VPN or Remote Desktop Protocols.

While searching for a DRaaS plan, know that a few suppliers offer their own products. Others use DRaaS devices from partner sellers.


Making a thorough disaster recovery plan is challenging. That doesn’t mean it must be unimaginable. Find which approach is the right fit for yourself as well as your association. In the wake of doing as such, your data will be more secure from digital attacks, catastrophic events, and simple human error.

BRCCI – Business Resilience Certification Consortium International (

We are thankful to the author for allowing us to post this insightful article on our website. BRCCI provides a comprehensive training and certification program in business resiliency, continuity and IT disaster recovery planning:

  1. 3-day CBRM (Certified Business Resilience Manager) is a comprehensive, all-in-one, 3-day Business Continuity Planning and Management Training and Certification course which is designed to teach practical methods to develop, test, and maintain a business continuity plan and establish a business continuity program.
  2. 3-day CBRITP (Certified Business Resilience IT Professional) is a comprehensive training on how to assess, develop, test, and maintain an information technology (IT) Disaster Recovery Plan for recovering IT and telecommunications systems and infrastructure in the event of a disaster or business disruption. The training provides a step-by-step methodology to ensure a reliable and effective IT disaster recovery and continuity plan consistent with the industry’s standards and best practices.
  3. 2-day CBRA (Certified Business Resilience Auditor) It provides 2 days of intensive, Business Continuity Audit training to enable students to determine the effectiveness, adequacy, quality and reliability of an organization’s Business Continuity Program. Students will learn an audit methodology to evaluate compliance of Business Continuity and IT Disaster Recovery Programs with the current industry’s best practices and standards including:
  • ISO 22301: Business Continuity Management Systems – Requirements
  • NFPA: Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs
  • ITIL: Information Technology Infrastructure Library

For information on the above program, please contact BRCCI (www.brcci.org1-888-962-7224).

Join BRCCI Online Seminars, On-Site Training for Certified Business Resilience IT Professional (CBRITP) Certification Program Today
On Key

Related Posts

ICR Standard

ICR Standard Author: Dr. Akhtar Syed Download PDF Section 1.0 – Introduction The Integrated Continuous Resiliency (ICR) standard, developed by BRCCI (, is a comprehensive

What is ISO 22301 standard?

What is ISO 22301 standard? Author: Andrea Patricia Sanchez Dominguez Download PDF 1. Introduction The Standard ISO 22301 was proposed in 2012 as a new